Don’t Lose Heart

I was reading my bible on Wednesday morning.  I have been trying to be more faithful with that, it is not always easy to take the time to do that.   Anyway, a verse just stuck out to me.

 2 Corinthians 4:18

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen.  For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

It really helps with that whole perspective thing I was talking about the other day.  My focus needs to be the big picture, not just the problem right in front of us.  Then as I was driving home yesterday, the little radio devotion was based on this same verse.  It kind of shook me up.  I asked God what he was trying to teach me.  Then I became afraid.  What if something horrible is going to happen, and this verse is supposed to help me through it.  Fear gripped my heart.  I started to panic, thinking, oh God, what are you going to do to me?  Then I remembered something back from my bible school days.  Fear is not from God, if God is trying to show us something, He does not do it by striking us with fear.  He does it in a way that draws us to him.  I had to make a choice right then, not to fear.  Not to be afraid, but to choose life and freedom in Christ.  Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom!  (2 Corinthians 3:17)  God is so faithful and so good.  I am going to try to look at things from His perspective and choose not to fear.  It won’t always be easy, but that’s okay.  I have a Him to lean on and run to. 

 

Published in: on March 24, 2006 at 4:07 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thisismylife.wordpress.com/2006/03/24/dont-lose-heart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

